There were originally 8 deadly sins

The modern concept of the seven deadly sins is linked to the works of the fourth-century monk Evagrius Ponticus, who listed eight evil thoughts in Greek as follows:[13][14]1 Γαστριμαργία (gastrimargia) gluttony

2 Πορνεία (porneia) prostitution, fornication

3 Φιλαργυρία (philargyria) avarice

4 Ὑπερηφανία (hyperēphania) pride – sometimes rendered as self-overestimation[15]

5 Λύπη (lypē) sadness – in the Philokalia, this term is rendered as envy, sadness at another's good fortune

6 Ὀργή (orgē) wrath

7 Κενοδοξία (kenodoxia) boasting

8 Ἀκηδία (akēdia) acedia – in the Philokalia, this term is rendered as dejection

They were translated into the Latin of Western Christianity (largely due to the writings of John Cassian),[16][17] thus becoming part of the Western tradition's spiritual pietas (or Catholic devotions), as follows:[18] 1 Gula (gluttony)

2 Luxuria/Fornicatio (lust, fornication)

3 Avaritia (avarice/greed)

4 Superbia (pride, hubris)

5 Tristitia (sorrow/despair/despondency)

6 Ira (wrath)

7 Vanagloria (vainglory)

8 Acedia (sloth)

These "evil thoughts" can be categorized into three types:[18] lustful appetite (gluttony, fornication, and avarice)

irascibility (wrath)

mind corruption (vainglory, sorrow, pride, and discouragement)

In AD 590 Pope Gregory I revised this list to form the more common list. Gregory combined tristitia and acedia, vanagloria and superbia, and added envy.[19][20] Gregory's list became the standard list of sins. Thomas Aquinas uses and defends Gregory's list in his Summa Theologica.[21]